links



  
Websites on Peace and Justice suggested by Fr. John Dear:

“A Persistent Peace,” the autobiography of Fr. John Dear, with photos and excerpts, www.persistentpeace.com

Pax Christi USA, the National Catholic Peace Movement. www.paxchristiusa.org

Pax Christi International, the international Catholic peace organization: www.paxchristi.net

Pax Christi New Mexico, founded by Fr. John Dear, www.paxchristinewmexico.org

Essays on Nonviolence, updated daily: www.wagingnonviolence.org

The National Catholic Reporter, which includes a weekly column by Fr. John Dear, www.ncronline.org

Philip and Daniel Berrigan, Elizabeth McAlister, and the Jonah House Community of Resistance and Nonviolence in Baltimore, Maryland: www.jonahhouse.org

The Franciscan nonviolence program, "From Violence to Wholeness," www.paceebene.org

The San Damiano Foundation, providing films about global poverty, St. Francis and peace, including “The Narrow Path,” about Fr. John Dear, www.sandamianofoundation.org

The Fellowship of Reconciliation, interfaith peace organization: www.forusa.org

The Jesuits, the website for the Society of Jesus: www.jesuit.org

The Catholic Worker movement: www.catholicworker.org

Thomas Merton, monk and peacemaker: www.merton.org

Mairead Maguire and the peace movement in Northern Ireland: www.peacepeople.com

Henri Nouwen, writings and society: www.henrinouwen.org

Thich Nhat Hanh, writings and retreats, www.plumvillage.org

Sister Joan Chittister, writings and schedule, www.benetvision.org

Charles McCarthy, essays on Christian Nonviolence, www.centerforchristiannonviolence.org

Franz Jagerstatter, Austrian farmer killed for refusing to fight for the Nazis, www.franzprayforus.org

Richard Rohr and the Center for Contemplation and Action, www.cacradicalgrace.org

Dr. Paul Farmer, Partners In Health, and medical work on behalf of the world’s poor, www.pih.org

Cesar Chavez, Dolores Huerta and the United Farm Workers, www.ufw.org/_page.php?inc=history/07.html&menu=research

The War Resisters League: www.warresisters.org

The Nuclear Resister, monthly update on all civil disobedience actions against war and nuclear weapons, www.serve.com/nukeresister

Colman McCarthy’s Class on Nonviolence, www.1.salsa.net/peace/conv/index.html

Orbis Books, publisher of great books on peace, justice, theology, and spirituality, www.orbisbooks.com

“Democracy Now,” national radio show, featuring Amy Goodman, www.democracynow.org

"Voices for Creative Nonviolence," a campaign to end US warmaking in Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan, which features the work of John's friend, Kathy Kelly. www.vcnv.org

The Global Network Against Weapons and Nuclear Power in Space: www.space4peace.org

Colombia Support Network, a solidarity group based in Wisconsin which promotes "a nonviolent, negotiated resolution to the conflict in Colombia," and raises awareness about the U.S.-backed war in Colombia. John has long been an advisory board member, and recently journeyed to Colombia with this group:
www.colombiasupport.net

Haiti Solidarity Groups:
The Institute for Justice and Democracy in Haiti, www.ijdh.org
www.haitiaction.net
www.haitisolidarity.net
www.parishprogram.org

The U.S. Campaign to End the Occupation of Palestine, www.endtheoccupation.org

Bat Shalom, Jerusalem Center for Women, www.batshalom.org

Call to Action, a national Catholic organization promoting the teachings of the Second Vatican Council: www.cta-usa.org

The complete writings of Mahatma Gandhi: www.mahatmagandhi.org

Essays, information, and resources about Mahatma Gandhi: www.mkgandhi.org

Mahatma Gandhi and the Gandhi Institute for Nonviolence: www.gandhiinstitute.org

Religious books and spiritual writers: www.spiritsite.com

Dayton International Peace Museum, Dayton, Ohio (Fr. John Dear is an honorary trustee), www.daytonpeacemuseum.org

Working for Peace in Central America: www.rtfcam.org

Ignatian Spirituality and Prayer: www.sacredspace.ie

William Hart McNichols’ Icons: www.standreirublevicons.com

Brian Willson, writings: www.brianwillson.com

Animal Rights and Vegetarianism: www.peta.org

Sister Helen Prejean and her work to abolish the death penalty: www.prejean.org

Abolishing the Death Penalty, The Death Penalty Information Center: www.essential.org
Also, Equal Justice USA: www.quixote.org/ej
The National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty: www.igc.org/ncadp
Jubilee Campaign to abolish the death penalty: www.jubileeusa.org
Moratorium Campaign to abolish the death penalty: www.moratorium2000.org
People of Faith Against the Death Penalty: www.pfadp.org/index.

Greenpeace at www.greenpeace.com

Amnesty International: at www.amnesty.org

Sojourners magazine: www.sojourners.com

School of the Americas Watch: www.soaw.org

The Nevada Desert Experience and the campaign to end nuclear weapons testing: www.nevadadesertexperience.org

“United for Peace and Justice,” the national coalition of all national, regional and local peace and justice groups, www.unitedforpeace.org

“September 11th Families for Peaceful Tomorrows,” organized after 9/11 by family members who lost loved ones on September 11, 2001, but who stand against U.S. warmaking, www.peacefultomorrows.org

Peacework Magazine: www.afsc.org/peacewrk.htm

The Thomas Merton Center in Pittsburgh: www.thomasmertoncenter.org

A complete list of all Plowshares anti-nuclear actions: www.plowsharesactions.org

The UN Decade for a Culture of Peace and Nonviolence, Sponsored by all the Nobel Peace Laureates: www.nobelweb.org

El Salvador solidarity: www.share-elsalvador.org

"Agape Community," a community of Christian nonviolence in Massachusetts: www.agapecommunity.org

Links to peace organizations around the world: www.betterworldlinks.org

The Seamless Garment Network, working to abolish war, nuclear weapons, racism, sexism, the death penalty, consumerism, abortion and poverty: www.consistent-life.org

The books and writings of Trappist monk and peacemaker Thomas Merton: www.thomasmertonbooks.com

Promoting nuclear disarmament, the complete abolition of nuclear weapons: www.cnduk.org (England's Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament); and www.fourthfreedom.org

The book and film, "A Force More Powerful," about the power of creative, active nonviolence. www.aforcemorepowerful.org

The life of Peace Pilgrim, the nonviolent woman who walked across the U.S. several times, promoting peace. www.peacepilgrim.net

Catholic Social Teachings and the "JustPeace" program: www.justpeace.org

The abolition of landmines.www.landmines.org

Progressive News websites:
www.commondreams.org
www.antiwar.com
www.tompaine.com

The Life of Nelson Mandela. www.anc.org.za/people/mandela

DATA, the campaign to fight HIV/AIDS in Africa. www.data.org/flash.php

“On the Line,” a documentary about peaceful resistance at the School of the Americas protest, featuring Fr. John Dear, Martin Sheen, Susan Sarandon, Fr. Roy Bourgeois, and Helen Prejean, www.onthelinefilm.com

The Los Alamos Study Group, a campaign to disarm Los Alamos Nuclear Weapons Laboratories in New Mexico. www.lasg.org

Nonviolent Peaceforce, an international organization that sends teams trained in nonviolence into war zones to build peace, www.nonviolentpeaceforce.org New England Nonviolence Trainers Network, www.nonviolencetraining.org

Kirkridge Retreat Center, retreats on peace and justice near Stroudsburg, PA, www.kirkridge.org

South African Peacemaking: The Capuchin Franciscan Peace Centre in Pretoria, South Africa, www.damiettapeace.org.za

The Peace Resource Center at Wilmington College, Wilmington, Ohio, www.wilmington.edu/pc

The Amazon Rainforest Action Network, www.ran.org

The Natural Resources Defense Council and Global Warming, www.nrdc.org/globalwarming/default.asp

The Nobel Women’s Initiative, projects of peacemaking women who have won the Nobel peace prize, www.nobelwomensinitiative.org

Swarthmore College Peace Collection, largest archives of national peace groups and peacemakers, started by Jane Addams, includes the papers of Fr. John Dear, www.swarthmore.edu/library/peace



This website was created and maintained by Hopeworks 'N Camden.www.hopeworks.org